Skip to content
Content starts here

Student Services

We have a pyramid of support services available at the Auburn Village School, beginning with the differentiated instruction and accommodations that classroom teachers provide.

Our second tier of supports includes a Response Team, coordinated by our reading specialists, that meets on students that are having difficulty with any area of their school performance.   This regular education team review and gather data, plan and implement interventions, and monitor progress.  This is one of several regular education interventions, and the response team includes the reading specialist, guidance counselor, an administrator, classroom teachers, and others as needed including a speech and language pathologist, occupational therapist, school psychologist, school nurse, or special education teacher. The reading specialists also provide some direct service to students.

Children that qualify may receive Title 1 math support – Grades 2-6, or 504 supports related to protections for a documented disability.  ESOL or services for children who are identified as English Language Learners are also provided.  We also have an ALPs – Advanced Learning Program – which provides for enrichment activities.

We monitor student progress, and the effectiveness of the interventions.  The third tier is the last component of an RTI –  Response to Intervention – protocol, and is for students who are determined to have an educational disability.  Referrals come from a variety of sources, including parents, and are reviewed by a multidisciplinary special education team.  Only 10% of children should be identified as requiring special education, and we continue to work towards that goal. These are children who require truly specialized instruction.

We have five special education teachers, speech and language pathologists, occupational therapists, physical therapists, a school psychologist, guidance counselors, and a variety of consultants who assist us in providing quality programming for all of our identified students. Providing a free and appropriate public education is the hallmark of special education.

We believe that all children can learn!

Personnel

603 483-2769 x 3 – Mrs. Denise Charbonneau – Student Services Secretary

Name Role E-mail
Anne McSweeney Director of Student Services anne.mcsweeney@sau15.net
Michel O’Rourke 504 Coordinator, Asst Principal morourke@sau15.net
Lori Collins Principal lcollins@sau15.net
Sonia McDaniel Reading Specialist  K-4 smcdaniel@sau15.net
Shelley Widdison Reading Specialist  5-8 swiddison@sau15.net
Peter DiZoglio Guidance Counselor  K-4 pdizoglio@sau15.net
Melinda Avellino Guidance Counselor  5-8 mavellino@sau15.net
Diane Martineau Title 1 Math  Grades 2-6 dmartineau@sau15.net
 Elizabeth Daschbach ESOL Teacher  edaschbach@sau15.net
Ellen Warecki School Nurse ewarecki@sau15.net
Patti Clark Special Education Teacher K-3 pclark@sau15.net
Linda Barton Special Education Teacher 6-8 lbarton@sau15.net
Barb Keating Special Education Teacher 3-5 bkeating@sau15.net
Amanda Allan Special Education Teacher 6-8 aallan@sau15.net
Rhonda Campbell Special Education Teacher K-5 rcampbell@sau15.net
Wendy Hankin S/LA Pathologist, Preschool whankin@sau15.net
Terry Everett Speech/Language Pathologist teverett@sau15.net
Aimee Johnson Occupational Therapy  (PT) ajohnson@sau15.net
Joan Kurr Occupational Therapy jkurr@sau15.net
Megan Sass School Psychologist

We believe that all children can learn!

Auburn School’s Pyramid of Support Services

TIER I

GOAL – 80 – 85 % of students

Decisions regarding movement from one level to the next are based on the quality of student responses to research-based interventions.

High Quality, Evidence Based, Classroom Instruction, Differentiated Instruction and accommodations – for any child that requires them!

___________________________________________________

TIER II

GOAL – 10 – 15 % of students

RT – Response Team – Referral

Meeting – Documentation of concerns, and interventions 6-12 week intervention; if successful, continue

ALPS – Advanced Learning Program Students

Reading Specialist Groups and Interventions including Writing Consultation and support from other specialists including S/LA, OT and Special Educators.

Title 1 Math – Grades 2-6 Grant determines students that can be serviced.

504 Accommodations and Related Services for students with a documented disability.

ELL / ESOL for students that qualify.

___________________________________________________

TIER III

GOAL – 5 – 10 % of students

Specialized instruction – Special Education

The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) is a law ensuring services to children with disabilities throughout the nation.

New Hampshire Rules for the Education of Children with Disabilities

New Hampshire Special Education Procedural Safeguards Handbook

Auburn School District Policies & Procedures Manual

Section 504 is part of the federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973, which was enacted by Congress to combat discrimination against individuals with disabilities in services, programs and activities administered by any entity that receives federal funds, including public schools.

Please refer to the Auburn 504 Handbook for more information:

Auburn 504 Handbook

Auburn Title I Parent Compact

TITLE I PROJECT ABSTRACT

Title I math support is remedial instruction supplemental to classroom instruction. All students participate in the math program in their classroom with peers. Textbooks and related instructional material are used in delivery of services. Reinforcement of skills correlate with concepts taught in the classroom. An emphasis is placed on diagnostic teaching, the use of manipulatives, hands on materials, and reinforcement games and instructional activities.

Title I students are seen in small groups (4 or less students)or individually. This allows for individual attention, continuous direct teaching, and full student participation. Individual learning styles and needs are addressed through the use of a variety of instructional strategies employing visual, auditory, and tactile senses. All of the above have been identified as advantageous to learning through research

Most of the Title I services are delivered outside the classroom in a setting that minimizes distractions and helps the students focus on instruction. Remedial instruction is scheduled at a time that does not conflict with classroom instruction in basic skills. Good communication between classroom teachers and the Title I teacher insures that the student is not missing essential instruction or overwhelmed with independent assignments due to remedial help. Continual consultation with the classroom teachers allows for an exchange of information as to student strengths and weaknesses, learning styles, and skill development.

The Title I program provides math support to regular education students in grades 2-6. Selection is determined on the basis of academic need. This program provides extra remedial instruction in support of regular classroom math classes; it is not a replacement for the instruction that students receive in their homerooms.

Instruction is in a small group setting or within the classroom. A variety of teaching methods and materials are used to help each student master skills and build confidence in the area of mathematics.

Mrs. Diane Martineau is our Title I teacher. The financial support for this program is shared by the district and federal funds through a Title I grant. Any questions regarding the program can be directed to Mrs. Martineau.

The mission of the ESOL Program is to ensure that all English Language Learners in New Hampshire are given an equitable, appropriate, and academically challenging education.

The goal of the McKinney-Vento Homeless Education Assistance Improvement Act of 2001 Section 722 (g) is to ensure New Hampshire children and youth experiencing homelessness have equal access to the same free and appropriate public education and to meet the same challenging state student performance standards as all other children and youth.